My life has endless blank pages…

back in the game

Session #2 of Team in Training was yesterday morning, and I made it through! NGL, I was terrified when the season started to approach.  Why? I’m terrified of re-injuring myself.  Terrified doesn’t even begin to explain how I was feeling; anxious, paranoid, etc.  For the first 2 sessions, even though I was moving as slow as molasses, every time my left foot would start to make contact with the ground, I was just anticipating crippling pain shooting through my leg, with me collapsing on the ground in tears. Every single step for 2.1 miles the first week and 3.2 miles yesterday.  Even though the x-ray came back with positive results, I just know it’s there, lurking, waiting for the perfect moment to fracture again. Yesterday I made it 3.2 miles (a 5k! I haven’t been able to run that since mid-April 2010!), although not completely pain-free.  My right hip flexor started to protest around mile 2, and has since been showing it’s disdain for me being active again. I’m hoping the soreness/tightness/pain is just from being idle for so long, and once I get back into the swing of things again, it will go away, instead of being IT band issues or something of that nature.  But, again with the paranoia, I had leg pain last year, thought it was minor and that I could push past is, and ended up with stress fractures 😦 Oy.  So for the next couple days, I will be Stretchy McStretcherson and foam roll the heck out of it, in hopes that that’s all it needs!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

