My life has endless blank pages…

So, I’ve had 2 good weeks in a row. As some of you know, I had to go back in for another xray, and the doctor still didn’t see any sign of a stress fracture on my left leg.  So now she is referring me to the Sport Injury department at Kaiser so we can dig deeper and figure out what the heck is going on.  Sooo, since she didn’t see anything, I of course was going to keep running until they find something!

Last week was at Henry’s in PB, and I was only supposed to run 6.1 miles.  Armed with a map in my pocket, I took off with 2 other ladies on my team, Corine and Heather.  Since they’re both training for the full, they were doing a longer run, and knew I needed to turn around before them.  Queen of the “I missed the turnaround” shows up again and guess what? Hey! I missed my 6.1 mile turn around, even though I was totally looking for it. Sad, right? Oh well, that just means a little extra mileage for me.  So I turned around and headed toward the last aide station I had hit, eager for a nice gulp of water. I ran into Eva and Haya, so we took off back towards Henry’s.  I sped up a little and Eva hung back to run with Haya, so I joined up with Bill (sometimes his Marines show up and do aide station for us), and ran all the way back with him at a pace of anywhere between 9:40-10:15/mile. Not bad! (and by ran all the way back, I literally mean ALL the way back. When we got to the entrance of the Henry’s parking lot, he challenged me to a sprint to the finish.. it was ON!).  I ended up running 7.5 miles, and my legs didn’t cramp up the entire time. HALLELUJAH!

That brings us to this morning.  We met at Vacation Isle (a spot we’ve frequented for short and long runs alike), for our weekly group run (this time green + purple teams), followed by our Honored Teammate Picnic.  I ran with Denise (I don’t know how I get through runs without her!) for 7.3 miles.  Now many people often ask “why the heck do you get up so early on Saturdays?” or “You’re crazy, why do you even run?” or “Why are you always fundraising?”  Because the world doesn’t revolve around me, and this is something much bigger than myself.  There are many things I cannot control in my life, but this is something that I can put my everything into and know it’s for the greater good. 

We had an amazing speech from the green team honored teammate, Caleb, who at the age of 24, has battle leukemia 3 times. 3 TIMES!  He told us of his struggles, how his family dealt with relapse after relapse and how he was told “there is nothing more we can do,” the words no cancer patient wants to hear, especially not a college sophomore.  Luckily, Caleb is currently in remission and is training every Saturday, along with his entire family, to complete the Rock n Roll marathon in San Diego on June 5th.  We also were introduced to the honored teammate for the purple team, as well as 3 other survivors and 1 currently battling, all of whom joined us for our picnic.    After everything they have been through, they came to our picnic to simply say “thank you.”  Needless to say, many tears were shed.

To answer all your questions, THAT is why I do what I do.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

