My life has endless blank pages…

Why do I do what I do?

It’s that time of the year again. Time to start training and time to start fundraising – I’ve already started one… Let’s just say it’s the one that doesn’t involve me getting out of bed 🙂 4 years ago I had no idea what Team in Training was, or what they did. I knew about the American Cancer Society’s Relay for Life (24 hours of crazy, tired fun) and the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society’s Light the Night Walk (less time, but walking through the city with illuminated balloons, thinking of CJ the entire time), but had never really been exposed to the madness (in the best way possible) that is TNT.

Why do I train for months for an endurance event? Why do I update my status, send Facebook messages, write letters, all asking for donations?  I’m not asking for money for myself, I’m asking you to help me save lives. To give up a Starbucks and donate $5 towards finding the cure for blood cancers, or providing food to cancer patients families, so they don’t have to worry about their bills while undergoing chemotherapy.

I joined because I wanted to take the next step with my involvement. I did my first Relay for Life when I was 10 years old. My nephew CJ was diagnosed with Leukemia when I was a freshman in high school and our family and close friends have been involved with ACS and LLS ever since. He passed away in 2002 and it made the need to do more to give back even more prevalent. Each of those were one time commitments with nothing really pushing you to your limits and very limited fundraising. I wanted to do something more, and after a friend completed her first TNT event, I thought, “why not!”

My favorite part is definitely the camaraderie. I couldn’t have gotten through some of those long runs without my TNT buddies! Having honored teammates, and hearing mission moments from cancer patients, cancer survivors and families of those who lost their battle with cancer each week is what really drove home why I do this, why I come out every week, why I’m so passionate for the organization.

You can help. Join Team in Training. It will change your life. If you can’t join the team, be a part of the team by making a donation of any size. Every dollar counts towards finding the cure.

One day we won’t need to do this anymore. That’s a day that we all look forward to. But until a cure is found, we’ll be out here each and every day, and hope you can join us.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

