My life has endless blank pages…

Running Pop Quiz

One of the kiddos is home sick today, so while he’s napping on the couch, I thought I’d give this a go. I found this quiz from Janae and Nancy, and if magazines are any indication, I’m a sucker for a good quiz (also, I still enjoy games of MASH. Oh what life could have been if I would have just landed on Mansion!)  Plus, I love anything that makes “These are a few of my favorite things…” pop in my head.

1. FUEL: Shot Bloks, GU, Energy Chews, Candy or Other?
Anyone who knows me well enough knows I have the worst stomach ever. I’ve tried Shot Bloks (on a regular day when I wasn’t running, so I could see how my stomach would do with them. I only ate 2 and was in pain for quite some time afterwards).  I made the mistake of using Gu for my first 1/2 marathon when I had only eaten 1 during a long run before, and during the 1/2 I would consume 3 (1 before and 2 during). I was ecstatic that I made it through the race without stomach issues, but about 30 minutes after the race, all hell broke loose and I was sick for at least 7 hours after that. I’ve tried 2 other kinds of gels, and chews. All have given me intense stomach issues. For me, it’s all about the Honey Stingers.  It’s the only thing I have ever taken during a long race that hasn’t made me sick. So thankful these are around!

2. Race Length: 5k, 10k, 1/2 Marathon, Marathon, Ultra or Other?
I do enjoy 5k’s.  They really push me to the limits, mentally and physically, because I am literally running as fast as I can.  But, it takes a few miles for my legs to warm up and by the time they do, the race is over! So I’ve come to love 10k’s, 15k’s and 1/2 marathons. 5k!).  

Image
3. Workout Bottoms: Skirts, Running Shorts, Capris, Pants or Other?
I usually wear shorts. Not they they look super flattering, but I was living in San Diego for so long, that it just gets too warm for pants and even capris sometimes. I’m not a huge normal skirt wearer, so I have yet to run in a skirt.  If it get’s cold (like it’s about to in Virginia, my shorts will be saved for gym days, and the running tights will come out… along with gloves and a warm headband for my ears)  

4. Sports Drink: Gatorade, Powerade, Cytomax, you stick to water when you run or Other?
This goes along with fuel, too.  By themselves, on a regular day when I’m not running and am in the mood for something flavored? A little bit of Gatorade is ok. I wouldn’t be able to drink the whole bottle without feeling sick (hello sugar), and can’t use it during races because it makes me sick. I trained for a season of Team in Training with Cytomax and that seemed to be ok.  But once again, someone stepped in to save the tummy… Nuun is the only thing that I’ve found that I can drink pre-, during and post- race and be perfectly fine.  Nuun is especially good to chug after a long run in heat, to keep headaches away, and a friend swears it’s also great the morning after a long night of drinking 🙂

Image
if lovin you is wrong, I don’t wanna be right!

5. Running Temperatures: HEAT or COLD?
I love mild weather 🙂 I’ve run in 80+ degree blazing sun and 58 degree cold rain, both during 1/2’s, and neither were very pleasant!

6. Running Shoe Brands: Saucony, Mizuno, Nike, Brookes, Asics or Other?
I love Brooks.  girl right here!!!  They were the first pair of shoes I bought when I first started running (for real) in 2010, and have been good to me. The customer service is excellent, they really care about their customers, they focus solely on runners, and HELLO, they’re in Seattle. I’m just waiting for them to open up the perfect position so I can work for them. I need to get back to the PNW!

Image
how am I supposed to pick just one?!

7. Pre-race meal: Oatmeal, Bagel, Banana, Eggs, Cereal or Other?
I usually stick with a banana, and a bagel with peanut butter, or combine the 2 and make a peanut butter and banana sandwich (heaven)

8. Rest Days: 1x per week, 2x per week, never ever ever or Other?
It honestly depends on my body. I’ve struggled with shin splints, and even had a stress fracture in 2010. I do NOT want a repeat of that horrible year, so I try to listen to my body. If it needs 3 days, it needs 3 days. I can walk, cycle, etc in the meantime.

9. Music: Have to have it or go without it?
Music is a HUGE part of my life.  That being said, running requires a bit of both. A lot of times if I’m running alone, music motivates me. If I’m running with a friend, I’m ridiculous and will sing out loud (sorry other runners!) During 1/2’s, I usually keep my music off for the first couple miles until my body feels comfortable in the running rhythm, and not everyone is bunched together.  During Rock n Roll races, I’ll keep it off anytime there are bands on the course, and sing/dance along to their music.

10. #1 reason for running: stress-relief, endorphins, you love to race, so you can eat all the cupcakes you want, weight-loss, love running for social reasons or Other?
You can’t pick just one! Running for me covers so many things….it’s stress relief, it’s my me time, my “clear your head” or “get all your emotions out” time, sometimes it’s social time when running with friends and catching up on our lives, and sometimes lets my competitive spirit come out in a good way!

Answer just a few or all of them! Feel free to do the survey and answer questions on your blog, too! That’ll give me something to read 🙂

Happy Friday!

Comments on: "Running Pop Quiz" (3)

  1. 1. I like GU – Vanilla Bean is my favorite. I used to be a big fan of Shot Bloks, but I tended to keep them in my mouth instead of chewing and as a result, got 2 cavities! Eeek!
    2. The half is my favorite distance
    3. Shorts or skirts 🙂
    4. Water / nuun / red powerade
    5. Around 50 degrees is ideal
    6. BROOKS fan as well!
    7. plain toast or bagel with PB
    8. Two is my normal
    9. Same as you; both have a time and place.
    10. ALL! Running is a big part of my life!

  2. Love this post! Loved reading about you! I answered this quiz on my blog a few days ago! 😉

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

