My life has endless blank pages…

#RunnersUnite for Boston

I had initially wanted to post my race recap from the #RnRSF 1/2 marathon on April 7th.  And then yesterday happened, and it just didn’t feel right to dedicate my time to myself, but would rather dedicate the time showing my gratitude for my running community.
 
I am overcome with love, emotion, tears & support this morning, that my Facebook, entire Twitter & Instagram news feed are #runnersunite photos. I am so blessed to be a part of a global community that I consider family, who all come together today to show our support for Boston. Wearing race shirts and/or blue & yellow proudly, and running 4.09 miles to show that we are strong, we are fighters, and we are all in this together.
 
Image
 
Even though we still do not know who is responsible for such a heinous and horrible act, we as a community are rising up.  The Boston Marathon isn’t a political event; it wasn’t even the runners that were targeted, since the bombs were set off on the sidewalk, where the spectators were. Boston marathoners are the best of the best.  They are strong, mentally and physically, and will come back as strong as ever. 
 
I will never be fast enough to qualify for Boston, but it’s always been a dream of mine to be a spectator. I had always envisioned sitting or standing at the finish line, watching the elites finish first, and staying until every runner is in.  I was in Boston the last week of March for work training. I walked down Boylston; I stood in Copley Square.  I may not have been there, but as a runner and a human being, yesterday hurt my heart and soul.
 
Today, we as a global family, unite to show support for Boston. To show that this will not stop us. To show that through tragedy and tears, love and support will shine.  Thank you to the runners, to the spectators, to the first responders, all who ran in to help without a second thought as to their own safety, to help those who were injured.  Thank you to the people of Boston for opening up your homes and hearts to people displaced by the bombings.  Today is just a day of gratitude and thanks, and another reminder to not take anything for granted.  You are on this Earth for a short time; live every second to the fullest, have no regrets, hug those you love. Surround yourself with love and positivity and more importantly, stand strong and give back.
 
Image
 

Join me and show your support today:

  • Join  the Runners Unite Facebook Group
  • Wear your Race Shirt or Blue and Yellow, and post photos on Instagram or Twitter. Post your support and love and positivity on social media outlets and spread the love!
  • Run 4.09 miles or 26.2 minutes and download the Virtual Run bib
Comments on: "#RunnersUnite for Boston" (2)

  1. Thanks for posting the link to Runners Unite. Definitely taking extra time to love my kids and husband today.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

