My life has endless blank pages…

Last night after work, I headed down to Crissy Field to join a ton of other runners in support of Boston.  TO show unity, support, love and admiration for all they’ve endured the past week, how resilient you are, and to give an air high-five to all of the first responders, especially those involved with shutting down an ENTIRE city, and not resting until the final suspect was captured alive.  They sure picked the wrong city to mess with!

I got off work late, the bus I was supposed to take didn’t show up, so I hopped on the next bus and didn’t realize until after $8.60 had been deducted from my Clipper card that I had jumped on a Golden Gate transit bus (charter bus) and was possibly not on the right one at all. After a few seconds of panic (because I literally only had my phone, drivers license and a $20 bill), I decided to just get off at the next stop with another guy. Turns out that was actually the stop I wanted and after him going one way, me running through Palace of the Fine Arts, and then meeting up again at a red light, we discovered we were both looking for #BostonStrongSF. Unintentional score!  We ran to Crissy Field, looked for the biggest crowd (and the news van) and headed that way. I was blown away at the site of all those runners.

Image

Brian being interviewed by Channel 7

The first thing I see when I run up is the awesome Pavement Runner being interviewed by Channel 7 news.  Please check out the news clip online about the event!  I tried to embed the video but it didn’t want to cooperate 😦

Brian was the genius that first thought of people organizing events in their city one week after Boston. When you think of something like that, you always hope that people will pick up on the idea and form a little group to show our love. Never in my mind did I think it would be as big as it was.  Over 120 cities organized events for yesterday after work, in the US, Canada, London and Paris. I was blown away and filled with immense emotion when I saw their pictures and read their recap blog posts.

Pavey said on his blog when announcing his idea:
“I’m organizing a global event: #BostonStrong<city>

         A run for us to unite and show our strength.
        A run for those that were unable to finish. 
        A run for those that may never run again. 
       A run for us to try and make sense of the tragedy that has forever changed something              
       we love.”

I couldn’t have said it any better myself.  People read that, took it to heart, and started organizing runs and fundraisers to raise money for One Fund Boston.

Image

Brian started things off with offering words of support, explaining why he wanted to organize an event like this, how amazed he is at how quickly the idea grew, how thankful he is for the support, and shared our own sentiments about why we’re all out there. We are a community. We are a family. When you mess with one of us, you mess with all of us. When one of our hearts hurts, we all hurt.  We had a moment of silence to pay our respects, and I thought back to watching the Bruins game and how emotional I got while watching the entire stadium singing the national anthem. 

Image

Thanks to Pavement Runners photographer for this one 🙂

ImageAnd then we were off! It was great to see how far along the horizon we stretched.  People wore blue and yellow, people wore black ribbons, people wore Red Sox hats and jerseys.  A few people even wore Boston Marathon memorabilia, some from previous years, and a couple that were actually in Boston last Monday, and experienced the mayhem firsthand. Cue emotions yet again.

Parts of the run were just runners, walkers and dog walkers, and a few parts were sharing the road with cars. A couple people rolled down their windows and asked who we were and what we were doing. A few people honked and gave us a thumbs up from their cars. A few people handed out high fives like it was their job. And what an awesome job to have!

Image

 

Our run was 3.5 miles along the water. I couldn’t have asked for a more perfect day in terms of weather, or a more perfect running route.  Mother Nature was showing her support as well, shining sun beams down on us, and giving us a light breeze to cool us down when we needed it.

Image

Sending our love from coast to coast

After finishing up the 3.5 miles, everyone stayed until the very last person came in, cheering them in the entire way.  Afterwards, Sports Basement Presidio had an event with free refreshments and beer, with ways to donate to One Fund Boston, as well as 10% of any purchases going to One Fund Boston.  I wasn’t able to make it to that since I needed to catch the bus back towards work, walk another .5 mile to work, pick up my bag, walk .75 miles to the nearest BART station, take BART 25 minutes to Oakland and then take the bus back to Alameda. Long night for sure.

Thank you to EVERYONE who took part in this event around the world. I felt your love and support and unity, and I’m hopeful that Boston can as well!

Image

Please disregard my misshapen heart. I’m short 🙂

You can shake us, but you cannot break us. We are one. We are united. We will not be stopped. We are Boston Strong.

Image

 

Comments on: "A week after Boston – #BostonStrongSF" (3)

  1. Awesome!! It is so cool that so many people came together to run for Boston. We had one here in my town, but I was sad to have to miss it. I had my kids and was watching a neighbor’s kids and it was dumping snow. If it were just me, I could have run in the snow (I know they still ran), but I couldn’t put the kids out there like that. So today I am enjoying reading about all the #BostonStrong runs throughout the country. It warms my soul.

  2. Glad you were able to make it to the event in SF, even if it started out stressful! So rad to see all of these runs around the world. Runners rule!

  3. Thanks for sharing your recap and the news clip! So inspiring to see groups come together all over the country following Brian’s idea.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

